Aseret HaDibrot || עֲשֶׂרֶת הַדִּבְּרוֹת || Ten Commandments

As stated above, there are 613 commandments in the Torah. All of them are important. However, when G‑d came down on Mount Sinai to give the Torah, He actually spoke to the entire Jewish nation and gave them ten of these 613 commandments. The Ten Commandments are:

1) I am the L‑rd your G‑d. Believe in G‑d: אָנֹכִי ה' אֱלֹהֶיךָ אֲשֶׁר הוֹצֵאתִיךָ מֵאֶרֶץ מִצְרַיִם

2) You should have no other gods or idols: לֹא יִהְיֶה לְךָ אֱלֹהִים אֲחֵרִים עַל פָּנָי. לֹא-תַעֲשֶׂה לְךָ פֶסֶל וְכָל-תְּמוּנָה

3) Do not mention G‑d’s name in vain: לֹא תִשָּׂא אֶת-שֵׁם-ה' אֱלֹהֶיךָ לַשָּׁוְא

4) Keep the Shabbat: זָכוֹר אֶת-יוֹם הַשַּׁבָּת לְקַדְּשׁוֹ

5) Honor your father and mother: כַּבֵּד אֶת-אָבִיךָ וְאֶת-אִמֶּךָ

6) Do not murder.

7) Do not commit adultery.

8) Do not steal. 

9) Do not witness falsely.

10) Do not covet [be jealous of] your friend’s possessions.

It is very interesting to note that in the Hebrew text, the total number of letters in the Ten Commandments is 620, to hint that all the commandments, 613, plus 7 שבע מצוות בני נוח (Rabbinical commandments), are included in the Ten Commandments.